My baby

 

Wrapped in a blanket warm

This little one has just been born

We fell in love instantly

Now a family of three

 

She’s perfect with a button nose

Tiny feet and tiny toes

Little hands and little nails

Never cries and never wails

 

Lying there against my chest

Cradled in the place that’s best

Eyes closed she gently sleeps

Not a sound, not a peep.

 

The love I feel is huge and new

I know that she can feel it too

I never want to let her go

But this is goodbye as well as hello

 

She was born with her eyes forever closed

And this is the last time ill touch her toes

Or kiss her skin and tiny head

The only time I’ll tuck her in bed

 

Il never be the mummy I planned

Mothering her on this land

And she will never have her chance

To see the sea or learn too dance

 

As I kissed her head and said goodbye

A part of me broke off inside

And as I left and walked away

I left that piece, with her it stayed

 

I thought my heart would never heal

But the hole  is almost filled

As I left with her heavens key

You see a part of her was left with me

 

and so …

Even though we are worlds apart

We’ll forever  have the others heart.

Leave a comment